Gratitude in a Power Outage

July 18th, 2012 Somewhere around 3 p.m. Iowa City, Iowa  (originally written on REAL PAPER)  😉

The neighborhood I reside in has lost power. It’s been at least 30 minutes since everything went off and I’m already feeling grateful, after some initial feelings of fear and worry. This is Recovery Stuff. Before Al-Anon I could easily be stuck in fear for hours into days, only focusing on what might go wrong.

Instead I am feeling grateful for the fact that power is “magically” delivered to me the majority of the time. Grateful for the pureness of silence without electricity. No buzzing, humming, noise of the television or radio. What I hear instead is the sound of my pen across the paper, the occasional sound of the house settling, birds outside, cars going by…

Am I nervous, worried, scared somewhat? Yes, but while holding viable options in my head: go for a drive, go to a friends’ place, the library…Am I worried about my health and the lack of power? Yes. I’m concerned about being too hot and that contributing to the nausea, headache, and painful body I am already experiencing. The pain which is fibromyalgia, seeming to come from any and all parts of the inner and outer body: muscle, fat, blood, air, cartilage, bones…

All the while I am reminded of how fortunate I am to have shelter, window air conditioning, refrigerator and freezer, toilet, shower, sink, a big bed. Could I deal with this if I was homeless? If I was working outdoors? Walking back from the food bank with bags of food?

And the gratitude goes further, deeper with the realization that I am able to see and feel my gratitude and realize my good fortune and connectedness with the world.

2 thoughts on “Gratitude in a Power Outage

  1. It makes me smile to read this. If only everyone could feel so blessed even in the face of “first world problems”, as they’ve come to be known. I am glad you are well. I am glad you exist.

Leave a Reply

