England from 2009 Rediscovered!

Blogzie about England Trip   Saturday June 20, 2009

This is our second week in England and I am quite sleep deprived. The other three main characters in this story; Michael, Chris, and Brian, they have been sleeping like, hmmmm, what would be a good example? Like… Well, damn, I’m not sure, I just know that they sleep for 8,9,10,13 hours at a pop, while I partook of about 3 hours of sleep last night, despite 2 Melatonin, 2 Sominex, 2 Baileys, AND being incredibly exhausted. By some joke of ’the big man upstairs,’ each of the aforementioned lads have a common trait. They ALL SNORE! In case you didn’t already know this about me, I go wacko when rooming with folks who snore. It drives me berserk, no matter how irrational that is. I could trace this disgust of all things snore back to the ‘TRAUMA’ of living with my Mom throughout my teen years, and no matter how many doors we closed or stopped up the bottoms of, no matter how high I turned the television volume, I could -still- hear her incredibly noxious snore. That is my psychological connection to the snore. (Freud may have said something completely different, maybe that I had breast envy and a childhood psychosis, but he ain’t here no more, HA!)

Anyway, that’s quite enough talk about sleep. Highlights, lowlights, honorable mentions from the trip so far: McDonald’s in the Amsterdam airport charging us £2 for ketchup packets, incredibly narrow winding, not lit roads which lead between the village our friends, Chris and Brian, live in, which has 900 inhabitants, and other nearby villages. These roads generally don’t have any lines drawn on the pavement and I would estimate that the width of the road, which is ostensibly two lanes, is barely bigger than one of our traffic lanes in the states. And the people, these wild English daredevils, speed down the roads and when they come upon another car, 9 times out of 10, do not even pull over to the side, as I am used to, to allow the other car to get through. OH NO! Not these stiff-lipped, bad-ass, village living English folks, they continue speeding toward one another, and the cars pass one another with only a couple inches between them. It takes a bit of getting used to, I have to say.

Double-decker busses are everywhere! In my mind, double-decker busses mainly or only drove within the London area, and there are few of them, because they are “just for fun.” Not the case at all, though I have yet to get on one of these busses, it is in my list of activites I hope to partake in before returning to Iowa.

2 thoughts on “England from 2009 Rediscovered!

  1. I can relate to your sentiments on snoring. Sometimes I can fall asleep even with the fella snoring, but when he and the dog get a symphony going, it makes me want to tear out my hair.

    I’m glad you shared your story. It sounds like you were outside your comfort zone and that’s a good thing in this case. And soon you’ll be driving like those Brits!!

Leave a Reply

